Kimberly Vrudny

Beauty’s Oracle

In HIV/AIDS, Prophetic, South Africa, Theological Aesthetics, Theological Reflection on August 9, 2010 at 2:30 am

On the Prophetic Voice

(This article is now under review with a book publisher.) It speaks of the prophetic tradition that Jesus stresses in his ministry, and its applicability in an age of AIDS.

  1. The depth and breadth of support you bring to your arguments always amazes me. I would love to have you debate social issues with a few people I know 🙂 But more than that, the above posting helped me to see that I’m not doing as much as I could be.

    I take a similar philosophic stance in conversation, yet that philosophy is left behind when it’s time to purchase goods and make other choices in my life. It’s not that I choose to ignore the human cost of those who manufactured the product I’m pulling off the shelf, rather I’ve never built a bridge between my philosophy and my actions. This posting has opened my eyes to the fact that, in reality, I’m not all that different than those I debate with. That’s something I plan to work on.

    Thanks for your postings.

  2. Kim,
    Thank you for these new images– so very beautiful and poignant. And for these new essays too. All that you’ve written so far in 30/30 has had great meaning, but these in particular were powerfully resonant for me.

    Have you read Abraham Heschel’s “The Prophets”? “Restorer of Streets,” in particular, reminded me of his daughter’s words in her forward:
    “‘What manner of man is the prophet?’ asks my father in the opening pages of ‘The Prophets.’ A person of agony, whose ‘life and soul are at stake in what he says,’ yet who is also able to perceive ‘the silent sigh’ of human anguish. In the common imagination, we think of prophets as people who foretell the future, who warn of divine punishment for sin, who demand social justice. Such moderation fails to understand that ‘God is raging in the prophet’s words.’ While we may all criticize injustices, they remain tolerable, while to the prophet ‘injustice assumes almost cosmic proportions.’ Why the indignation, the outrage? Is the prophet’s reaction not out of proportion?

    “Yet it is precisely the passion of the prophet that is central. For my father, the importance of prophecy lies not only in the message, but in the role of the prophet as a witness, someone who is able to make God audible and to reveal not only God’s will, but inner life. To be a prophet, he writes, is to be in fellowship with the feelings of God, to experience communion with the divine consciousness. The prophet hears God’s voice and looks at the world from God’s perspective…. [T]he prophets’ experience of God…is characterized as a communion with the divine consciousness, a sympathy with divine pathos, a deep concern by God for humanity.”

    Thank you for this essay, which shines with the light of your own prophetic gift, and clarifies with sharp focus that for which God is concerned in our world today.

Leave a Reply

