Kimberly Vrudny

Participant 23

In 30/30 Participants, South Africa, Treatment Action Campaign on August 12, 2010 at 2:45 am

Among other roles, "Participant 23" works as a TB coordinator for TAC. More than anything, she wishes to be a healthy mother to a healthy baby.

Originally I am from Eastern [Cape] from the place called Butterworth. I was diagnosed HIV+ in 2002 when I was having TB of the pulm for the second time. At that [time] my CD4 was 39, and I had to start ARVs. I started ARVs on 13 of April in 2002. Two months after my CD4 was 90. I felt good. In 2004 towards the end I decided to get pregnant because my CD4 was very high at 880. My doctor advi[s]ed me to do the papsmear and CD4 and viral load for my pregnancy. I was referred to Hanover Park. That [is where] I delivered an HIV negativeboy from the weight on 4.2 kg [9.25 lbs.]. I was working at the hospice in 2003 up to 2005. It’s where I’ve noticed that I have to work closely with HIV client[s] to give them the education and information that the community need[s] outside. In terms of stigma and discrimination I didn’t experience anything. I experienced lots of side effect because AZT, 3TC, Effavirenz. When I decided to get pregnant & was [switched] from Effavirenz to Nevirapine. Currently I am working for TAC since 2006 for the integration of TB and HIV clinic as a TB coordinator. I am good, healthy and my CD4 is 940. I want to s[t]ay a healthy mom to [a] healthy baby. Let’s come together and fight this epidemic. Alluta || continua || Amandla

Leave a Reply

