Kimberly Vrudny

Participant 25

In 30/30 Participants, New Life Center Foundation, Thailand on August 12, 2010 at 2:29 am

"Participant 25," now seventeen years old, was sent away from home at the age of eleven to work in a restaurant. The owners arranged for her to meet several "customers" daily.

When I finished the third grade, I did not think I would meet with the issues that I faced next but shouldn’t have. But when we have passed a certain stage, we shouldn’t destroy ourselves. We are bearing the consequences of what we have done.

Sometimes I think of having HIV, and I think that nobody will love me. And sometimes when I see others enjoying their lives while I am suffering in my life with the virus, [I am sad because] I should not have it. Sometimes it also causes me to think back to the past. It gives me an experience [to say] that we do not have to work in those kinds of jobs again. There are many other people who are suffering more than me, and they are not going into despair about the problems they are encountering.

When we come to a safe place, it gives us happiness and joy. I want to tell everybody that is like me that I wish they did not have to go through this. Please obey your parents. If [girls] want to work, [I want to tell them to] find appropriate work for their age, and to find work that is legal. Don’t think that all work is good work. It is not true. It might not be suitable or appropriate [what people are asking you to do]. I don’t want any woman to do the work that I have done.

I have had this experience. I want to share this with people who have not done this work in the past. I cannot change what happened that gave me the virus. The only thing that I can do is to look after my health and to exercise regularly.

I am concerned about women because we have the same hearts.

Leave a Reply

