Kimberly Vrudny

Participant 26

In 30/30 Participants, New Life Center Foundation, Thailand on August 12, 2010 at 2:28 am

"Participant 26" is a graduate of the New Life Center Foundation. She hopes to protect her daughter from the trafficking to which she was vulnerable.

I remember the Lahu New Year’s celebrations when I was little. It was so much fun. It was the only time of year that we had new clothes made and we enjoyed showing off our clothes with our friends. I remember playing games in the village with the other kids, catching fish and swimming in the rivers. It was so much fun.

I am interested in the well-being and development of my daughter. If I was well, I’d be able to work and earn more money for my daughter. But I can’t really do that. But my main interest, the thing that is most important to me, is my daughter.

I’d like the broader public to understand how vulnerable young women are, to being trafficked and becoming HIV+. Becoming aware of exploitation and AIDS after the fact is too late. You must have awareness beforehand. Why do young women believe the people who lure us into these types of places? Why do we believe others so easily? You must not be so vulnerable, so easily tricked (like I was).

My hope for my future is that I’ll live long enough to see my grandchildren. I hope and pray that we can find a medicine that allows me to live for many, many years, so that I can see my grandchildren. Right now, I don’t know how long I’ll live, but please help find medicines that will keep me alive. This would be a good thing.

Leave a Reply

